All champagnes from Champagne Duval Leroy will shortly be vegan friendly. This means that the champagne house will not use fining agents such as milk protein, gelatine or egg whites. Instead their wines are clarified through a natural sedimentation over several months in tanks or barrels.
You don’t always find traces of these fining agents in the finished wine even if they have been used. However, if the producer do find traces in the wine it is now mandatory within the EU to state on the label that the wine contains traces of milk or egg products. If you want to make it more obvious for vegans that the wine is appropriate for them the wine can be certified as vegan friendly by the British Vegan Society. You can find this label on the wines from excellent southern Rhône valley producer Domaine Montirius for instance.
Read more: decanter.com.
This post is also available in: Swedish