Fewer regions in France

France makes serious (?) attempts to cut down its large state and municipal administration. One step has been to merge a number of regions. This merger took effect on January 1st, 2016. France had previously 22 regions. These have now, after many heated discussions, merged into 13. And now the merged regions are supposed to have new names. I bet there will be more heated discussions.

For the wine regions, this means for example that the Champagne-Ardenne, Lorraine and Alsace are now one administrative region, having previously been three. Aquitaine (with Bordeaux) and Poitou-Charente (with Cognac) has become one gigantic region as has Midi-Pyrénées (wines of the South-West) and Languedoc-Roussillon. The 13 new regions are

  • Alsace Champagne-Ardenne Lorraine
  • Aquitaine Limousin Poitou-Charentes
  • Auvergne Rhône-Alpes
  • Bretagne
  • Bourgogne Franche-Comté
  • Centre Val de Loire
  • Corsica
  • Languedoc-Roussillon Midi-Pyrénées
  • Normandie
  • Nord-Pas-de-Calais Picardie
  • Ile-de-France (Paris)
  • Pays de la Loire
  • Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur

For a map of the new regions, click here

Vineyards in Cahors, south-west France

Vineyards in Cahors, south-west France, copyright BKWine Photography

This post is also available in: Swedish


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

  Subscribe to comments:

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.

Sign up for our Newsletter!

In The BKWine Brief:

Enter your email to get it:

Make your friends happy!

And us too. Share & Like this!


Time to book a wine tour?

Travel on a wine tour with us to Bordeaux, Champagne, Douro, Tuscany, Piedmont, South Africa, Chile-Argentina, and much more...

We know more about wine — and about organising exceptional wine tours — and will give you a better, more extraordinary wine and gourmet experience.

Book your wine tour here with BKWine Tours. Now!

Book a wine tour!