XXO, new category of cognac now official

Share / Like:

Share / Like:

Cognac has a new category: XXO. In 2017 Hennessy launched a prestigious Cognac which they named XXO. But the authorities were not happy about it as this category of Cognac didn’t exist. Thus, the sale of this particular Cognac was suspended.

But Hennessy did not give up and with the help of luxury conglomerate LVMH, which owns Hennessy, the house managed to get the category XXO included in the official regulations of AOP Cognac.

XXO stands for Extra Extra Old and the rules say that the Cognac must be aged in barrels for at least 14 years. The designation is so far only used by Hennessy but it is of course possible for anyone in Cognac to use it.

So now the Cognac appellation has the following five categories:

  • VS (Very Special) is aged in barrels for at least 2 years,
  • VSOP (Very Special Old Pale) for at least four years,
  • Napoleon/Très Vieux for at least six years,
  • XO/Hors d’Age for at least 10 years and
  • XXO, for at least 14 years.

Read more cognac.

A snifter glass with brandy
A snifter glass with brandy, copyright BKWine Photography

Chose your language. Read the article in:



Share this post:

One Response

  1. Thanks a lot for sharing the news about this new category of Cognac with us. I will include the information about XXO in my paper, and hopefully, my readers will appreciate it. This is fantastic work from you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

  Subscribe to comments:

Notify me of followup comments via e-mail. You can also subscribe without commenting.


25,000 subscribers get wine news every month. You too?